Dont be well injunction

  • Published on
    22-Apr-2015

  • View
    137

  • Download
    1

DESCRIPTION

Dont be well is given by attribution as when parents continually tell a childs relatives and neighbors: This one isn't strong, you know.

Transcript

1. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) Injunction 2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) Imagine that mother and father are two busy people, both out all day working. They love their daughter but dont have much energy to give her attention when they get home in the evenings and she comes back from the day care. 4. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) Then she gets ill. Mother takes time off work to look after her sick daughter. Father does what he is seldom done before and reads her stories while she falls asleep at night. 5. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) In her astute little professor, the little girl stores away the conclusion: To get the attention I want around here, I have to be ill. Without realizing it or intending it, her parents have given her the injunction Dont be well. 6. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) If she complies with this message in grown up life, their daughter may use the scripty strategy of getting sick whenever things go wrong in her relationship or at work. 7. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) Some times, Dont be well is given by attribution as when parents continually tell a childs relatives and neighbors: This one isn't strong, you know. 8. Dont Be Well (Dont Be Sane) The variant Dont be sane is often modeled for the child by a psychotic parent or relative. The child may only get attention if he acts crazy enough. This injunction may be made more potent by unspoken rules about how insanity is to be passed on in a particular family. 9. Thank You 10. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological-games- people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of-developement- pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.